Hold the Phone

Can we just talk about how bad I am at leaving voicemails for a second?

For example, a mom emailed me about a job babysitting her kids after school, and gave me her number if I was interested. I called, HOPING I would get her voicemail because I was just not in the mood for a phone interview at that precise moment, and totally blew it of course.

I always introduce myself nice and sweet (“Hi so-and-so it’s Emma, just returning your call yadda yadda”) and then I fucking pause for a too-long amount of time because I can’t think of what to say that won’t make me sound like a stupid kid and also sound friendly over the phone!! Phones suck basically, because I’m like so ultra-aware of how my voice sounds and where I’m emphasizing my syllables (shout out to Hannah with that one, she likes properly emphasized syllables very much) and like how many exclamation points I’m using and am I using too many exclamation points?? And all of this is like x10 because you want this woman to think you sound like a pleasant young lady she wants to pay to hang out with her kid!

What ever happened to letters and the pony express, basically??

Leave a comment