FASHION BABY

I like to think of my personal style as “cool clay teacher”, because when I was a kid the clay teachers at the summer camps I went to were always these super hip young women drinking tea and wearing headbands and peasant tops and scarves and lots and lots of bracelets, and that’s kind of how I dress now. That sounds extremely unhip in writing but trust me, I’m basically a fashion goddess 😉 Also stripes. I love stripes.

I’ve gone through MANY phases of style. There was middle school when I wore anything and everything. In 7th grade I wore a different bow in my hair every single day (ugh). Before that, I went through a horrible mall punk phase, like, waaaay earlier than I should have and for waaaay too long. Thank God for my patient mother. High school wasn’t any different. Freshman year was pretty normal; jeans and t-shirt and the occasional experimental logo sweatshirt. Sophomore year was ROCK BOTTOM. Like, bad. Like, we don’t talk about sophomore year or I will burst into a fit of rage, Hannah can attest. I was hanging out with the cool grunge kids so naturally I took the whole cool grunge thing way too far and cut my hair practically up to my eyeballs and was like kind of androgynous maybe??? But not in a trying to be androgynous way more like, I don’t know how to dress my long gangly body in hip teenager clothes and still look decent way (something I struggle with too this day #tallgirlprobs). By junior year my hair was starting to grow out and I was beginning to develop into a decent and functioning human being! Hurrah!! And now here I sit at Starbucks in my leggings, t-shirt and flip-flops, feeling like a total fool trying to act like I know anything about fashion but doing it anyway. 

Actually, my sophomore-junior year I was like obsessed with fashion (blindly, since I didn’t see how I actually looked in those horrid high-waisted shorts), and convinced myself that I wanted to go into the field as a career and maybe even be a famous fashion designer. LOL. I went to my town’s vocational high school for half a day every day and was in the “Fashion Merchandising” class, where I taught myself how to use a sewing machine incorrectly. The teacher was senile and literally should have been institutionalized, and other girls were SCARY and OUT OF THEIR MINDS and after a whole semester I had a meltdown and quit because I was seriously concerned about losing brain cells. So ended my fashion career as we know it. Seriously, such a waste of time. 

But now I really like my style. I feel like I’m past the point of experimentation minus the occasional a-line skirt. Obviously I’m still learning and changing and whatnot but bitch I’m confident. 

Now, how about some badass photographic evidence to back this bullshit up? I think yes. 

10329023_10202069404639679_5864694873362804692_n Hannah and I! Stripes!

1625726_10201778359883742_201538768_n A scarf!

IMG_8706Adjusting the perfection.

IMG_9431 A shirt from Anthropologie/heaven

IMG_7422 #tbt looking cute AND comfortable while picking blueberries

IMG_8798 My fav sneaks

IMG_9437 Our church hats

IMG_9215 Look, pants! Boyfriend jeans make me fashionable, right?

IMG_0331  Us a while back at junior prom. UGH, loved that dress. Hannah’s was…well…

IMG_9348 I like my hair wavy and frizzy in true “cool clay teacher” fashion. My mom gave me that necklace. It says “It’s the journey; you have to depart to arrive”. AWWWWWWWW

12803_2506511398904_1390009042_n My personal favorite. Us in our every day looks; casual and in our element

Allow me to also direct you to my fashion board on Pinterest, because I fucking love Pinterest. It may not paint the most accurate picture of my personal style, but it’s got some pretty pictures!!

http://www.pinterest.com/emberchance/fashion/ (Emberchance? Who am I?)

xo xo GOSSIP GIRL

I mean, FASHION QUEEN

Oops, I mean, Emma

 

 

 

Leave a comment